Posted on

Easter Egg Decorating :P

I told my siblings that I had a very special Easter egg for them to decorate today. It took them a while to realize that I was talking about my massive baby bump! I had a lot of options when it came to doing something like this, including pregnancy belly art kits, fabric paint on a shirt, and permanent markers on a shirt. I finally decided on doing a shirt and using permanent markers. I chose a shirt because I wanted to do something that could be preserved instead of having to be washed away. The permanent markers were for easy of application, accuracy. and quicker dry time.

I was actually quite surprised at my 13, nearly 14-year-old sister, who jumped into the “egg decorating” right away. I figured she’d think it was silly and not want to have anything to do with it. My 10-next-Saturday-year-old brother was quite the opposite. He DID think it was silly, and apparently not cool enough for him to have anything to do with. We forced him to do just enough coloring to take a photo for Noah’s scrapbook and then he went off to do his own thing while my sister and I finished coloring. He was perfectly fine with signing the back, though, even though he hadn’t done much decorating himself. 😛

I’d like to see if there’s a way to make the shirt stay in the shape of my belly, because when I take it off, the egg shrinks up and looks like a really weird oval… I’ll have to experiment on another shirt with starch, but I’m not sure how well that will work, either. I’d do a belly mold and just have my belly wearing the shirt, but they’re a bit big in the end, and honestly, where am I going to store that? The shirt is at least something I can stretch out and put into a shadow box with some of Noah’s other things, like the Yoshi photo prop outfit one of my best friends is crocheting for him. 😀 (Oh, yeah, in case you didn’t realize, that’s a Yoshi egg on my belly, not really an Easter egg… ;P)

Leave a Reply

